Crappy, How Are You?

Sometimes, I hate the question “How are you?”. I know it has become more of a greeting than a question, but I hate the inevitable lie for an answer that follows. Do people really mean “fine” or “good” when they say it? Maybe half the time they are telling the truth, but I highly doubt they are telling the truth the other half of the time. I know I lie at least half the time I answer it.

Maybe the problem is not the question. Instead, there could be a larger societal problem in accepting negative emotions without fixing them. What would happen if we became totally okay with knowing others feelings? What if I could just answer the question with, “Crappy, how are you?”? What if I could just state that and go on with the business at hand? No need to listen to the explanation of why just accept the honest truth that, no, I am not having the best day.

Many objections to my proposed changes could be raised, and maybe it is just as well to keep the status quo. I guess I just want to be able to tell the truth and move on with my day. I hate hiding my feelings.

About Melanie

My Being Purpose Statement: As a part of Christ's Bride and as one of His precious treasures whom He redeemed with His precious blood, I purpose in my heart to love and adore Him with all of my heart, soul, and mind (Matthew 22:37). I want to be beautiful in the sight of my Saviour, Jesus Christ. I will therefore pursue holiness (1 Peter 1:16) that I might worship the Lord in the beauty of holiness (1 Chronicles 16:29, Psalms 96:9) and go and proclaim His love, sacrifice and salvation to others who have not heard that I may have the beautiful feet of them that bring glad tidings of good things (Isaiah 52:7, Romans 10:15). My Life Purpose Statement: I desire to serve my Redeemer and Savior Jesus Christ throughout my entire life by ministering to girls and women. I pray that I will be able to bring many girls and women to the Cross of Christ that they may find salvation from a loving and gracious Savior. It is my heart’s desire to encourage girls and women who know the Savior to deepen their relationship with Him and to fall more and more in love with Him. I also want to serve women by assisting them in their everyday lives whether I am rolling up my sleeves to work alongside them or am connecting them with people, ministries, and or resources that will be helpful and beneficial to them. By God’s grace and power, through His Spirit, and for His glory will I endeavor to fulfill this purpose
This entry was posted in A Full Heart, Happenings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment