Lies That I Believe

Over the years, I have believed a LOT of lies. Today, I discover two more. I’m going to speak those lies and I’m going to condemn them. I’m going to speak God’s truth in place of those lies.

The first lie I believed today was that “I am not good enough today.” I’m not good enough to be recognized, to be loved, to be wanted. The second lie goes hand in hand; the second lie is that “someday, I will be good enough.” Someday I can earn recognition, love and desire. Someday, because of what I do people will notice me, and love me and even want to be around me. Someday. I just have to keep working until I reach that someday.

As you can see, these lies go together so well. They are appealing even. They accept imperfection for a temporary amount of time, but they also promise perfection in the future. The lies fit into two equations. First, me=not good; second, me+work&time=perfect. Those equations leave Someone out. Those equations leave out God.

You see, God’s Word says that “They are all gone out of the way, they are together become unprofitable; there is none that doeth good, no, not one.” (Romans 3:12) “For all have sinned and come short of the glory of God” (Romans 3:23). Satan always twists God’s Truth. Yes, I am no good in and of myself. I am utterly depraved.

But God, who is rich in mercy, for his great love wherewith he loved us, Even when we were dead in sins, hath quickened us together with Christ, (by grace ye are saved;) And hath raised us up together, and made us sit together in heavenly places in Christ Jesus: That in the ages to come he might shew the exceeding riches of his grace in his kindness toward us through Christ Jesus. For by grace are ye saved through faith; and that not of yourselves: it is the gift of God: (Ephesians 2:4-8)

You see, God said, “No, Melanie, you aren’t good enough for me or for heaven. But I have mercy and I sent my Son. I did not send Him into the world to condemn the world (John 3:17) but I sent Him to give you life and life more abundantly (John 10:10).” As a little three year old, I remember chanting with my fellow Cubbies “God loved us and sent His Son 1 John 4:10” (I also remember having alternating crushes depending on which guy cubbie said his verse the loudest, but that is besides the point! Course, at least even then I had somewhat decent standards! ;))

In later AWANA years, I would come to learn all of 1 John 4:10 which states “Herein is love, not that we loved God, but that he loved us, and sent his Son to be the propitiation for our sins.” The word, propitiation, comes from the verb propitiate which means to appease. God sent a sacrifice in my place. A sacrifice that satisfied His requirements.

If I had to pick one verse to pit against my first lie, then I would pick 1 Corinthians 5:21 “For he hath made him to be sin for us, who knew no sin; that we might be made the righteousness of God in him.”

Now, on to the second lie (Someday I will be good enough). This second lie does not have truth in it. I can’t make myself better. I can never earn my salvation. I cannot earn anyone’s love for me.

The verses that smash the second lie are Ephesians 2:8-9 “For by grace are we saved through faith; and that not of yourselves: it is the gift of God: Not of works, lest any man should boast.” There is nothing I can do, now or in the future. NOT OF WORKS!!! And why not of works? “Lest any man should boast.”

This second lie comes from my desire to be my own god. I really do not want to need God. I’m happy to need Him today, but I do not like needing Him for the rest of my life. I am not trying to be disrespectful or irreverent; I am just trying to be honest. But, in Exodus 20:5 God said “Thou shalt not bow down thyself to them, nor serve them: for I the LORD thy God am a jealous God, visiting the iniquity of the fathers upon the children unto the third and fourth generation of them that hate me;” God is talking about idols. God does not want us to have any idols/other gods before us; this includes ourselves. What God does want is all the glory, because HE DESERVES IT!

So, as I wrap up tonight, I rest in His grace that He gave. He didn’t come into this world to condemn the world, but that the world through Him might be saved. Praise Him I am saved! I am saved today and for the rest of eternity!

About Melanie

My Being Purpose Statement: As a part of Christ's Bride and as one of His precious treasures whom He redeemed with His precious blood, I purpose in my heart to love and adore Him with all of my heart, soul, and mind (Matthew 22:37). I want to be beautiful in the sight of my Saviour, Jesus Christ. I will therefore pursue holiness (1 Peter 1:16) that I might worship the Lord in the beauty of holiness (1 Chronicles 16:29, Psalms 96:9) and go and proclaim His love, sacrifice and salvation to others who have not heard that I may have the beautiful feet of them that bring glad tidings of good things (Isaiah 52:7, Romans 10:15). My Life Purpose Statement: I desire to serve my Redeemer and Savior Jesus Christ throughout my entire life by ministering to girls and women. I pray that I will be able to bring many girls and women to the Cross of Christ that they may find salvation from a loving and gracious Savior. It is my heart’s desire to encourage girls and women who know the Savior to deepen their relationship with Him and to fall more and more in love with Him. I also want to serve women by assisting them in their everyday lives whether I am rolling up my sleeves to work alongside them or am connecting them with people, ministries, and or resources that will be helpful and beneficial to them. By God’s grace and power, through His Spirit, and for His glory will I endeavor to fulfill this purpose
This entry was posted in A Full Heart, Happenings, Intellectual, Scripture. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

