Envy and Airplanes

I look at so many different people in my life, especially the women (peers and older women), and I just wonder how they have it all together. Being close to them doesn’t seem to change my perspective either. I guess I look through rose colored glasses at their lives, their abilities and even just them and I think, if I could only be like that. I just want my life to be like that because they sure seem to be enjoying it!

That’s the key too. Its the people that I see enjoying their lives that I want to be like. I want to enjoy my life. I want to love it. I want to have this zest for living. I want to always want to get back up again. I know there is circumstances, conversations, and deep feelings that I never get to see, so I know I’m not getting the whole picture of these people’s lives. But yet, I’m attracted to it. I am not sure that it is exactly envy because I don’t want their lives, I just want the attitudes that they have. But I guess it could be.

This envy tends to make me lose sight of my life and what I love. I get caught up trying to love the things that they love thinking that maybe that is what will help me to be happy. Maybe if the inside of my car looks like the inside of her car then I will enjoy being in my car and I will be happy when I get out! haha, ridiculous right? But I have actually done that.

So, I wonder, what if it is time for me to stand alone? What if it is time for me to do my own thing and to just pursue what I love? I’m not good at balancing relationships with enjoying things I love, though. Seems like I always like weirdish things that no one I know really wants to pursue. So, how do I pursue these dreams that almost no one seems to understand? Maybe the idea is to buy the ticket and when you get to the airport you find out that a lot of other passengers are flying on the same flight?

Well, I guess its time to buckle in and hang on for the ride!

About Melanie

My Being Purpose Statement: As a part of Christ's Bride and as one of His precious treasures whom He redeemed with His precious blood, I purpose in my heart to love and adore Him with all of my heart, soul, and mind (Matthew 22:37). I want to be beautiful in the sight of my Saviour, Jesus Christ. I will therefore pursue holiness (1 Peter 1:16) that I might worship the Lord in the beauty of holiness (1 Chronicles 16:29, Psalms 96:9) and go and proclaim His love, sacrifice and salvation to others who have not heard that I may have the beautiful feet of them that bring glad tidings of good things (Isaiah 52:7, Romans 10:15). My Life Purpose Statement: I desire to serve my Redeemer and Savior Jesus Christ throughout my entire life by ministering to girls and women. I pray that I will be able to bring many girls and women to the Cross of Christ that they may find salvation from a loving and gracious Savior. It is my heart’s desire to encourage girls and women who know the Savior to deepen their relationship with Him and to fall more and more in love with Him. I also want to serve women by assisting them in their everyday lives whether I am rolling up my sleeves to work alongside them or am connecting them with people, ministries, and or resources that will be helpful and beneficial to them. By God’s grace and power, through His Spirit, and for His glory will I endeavor to fulfill this purpose
This entry was posted in A Full Heart, Intellectual. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Envy and Airplanes

  1. Anna says:

    I know exactly what you mean. Why do some people seem to live more fully and beautifully than others? I know there are many answers – appearances are deceiving, God ordains our circumstances, I’m just not her – and ultimately, I can know that if I am living in Christ, I will be living fully and beautifully. Thanks for this post; I definitely understand.

Leave a Reply

