My 2011 Resolutions (A Little Late)

This year, I believe that my best resolution that I can make is to live in reality. Living where MY life REALLY IS!

Yesterday, I was feeling kind of content in what I felt like was my “happy place”. You see, if I had to name my “happy place”, I would name it “In theory” or “Theoretically.” Perhaps it would be named “ideal”. Those words describe where my thoughts like to camp. I like to think about life and examine all the possibilities that are out there because examining possibilities is safe. Actually trying things can be quite dangerous for someone who fears failure!!

Sometimes, it isn’t about failing, though. Sometimes it is because I think I could do so much better so I ignore the little things in life, or what I consider to be little things. Often, I take things and the people around me for granted.

So this year, I want to live my life. Not the life that I dream about having or the life I think would be easier, but the life that I actually have. I want to fully appreciate the people around me and the gifts that God has given me. I want to do the things that actually need done for my tomorrow to go well or the week to go well. I don’t want to focus too much on the big picture as much as I want to focus on living today to its fullest.

At the same time, I want to make sure that I live out my dreams, be who I have always wanted to be and then do what I’ve always wanted to do. I don’t want to make excuses or do things that I don’t actually have time for. For example, I don’t want to waste time surfing the web, when I have many, many books that I have invested in, but have not read. I want to make sure that I am investing in myself in the ways that will enable me to live today and tomorrow well. For instance, I want to be cooking and eating food that is good for me and that will fuel me to be able to live to my fullest!

So, if I could summarize what I want this year, I would say that my reality requires that I:

1. Be grateful and appreciative of God’s many gifts. I will do this by blogging about what I am thankful for. Anna at Hope Road last year had a post every Monday where she would list things that she was thankful for. Her consistency and even just each list itself encouraged me!

2. Be grateful and appreciative of the people around me that do so much for me. This I can do by making sure to communicate my gratitude to both them and to God.

3. Focusing on who I want to be in real life means that I flush out who that is.

I know that I want to be a good homemaker. I want to keep my house in order. Now, I didn’t say that I wanted my house to be spotless (although that would be nice… :)), but what I’m getting at is that if an orderly house is my goal then I need to be daily identifying tasks that will contribute to that goal and I need to do those tasks purposefully.

I also know that I want to be a creator. I want to learn to create gifts for others as well as creating things that will help me around the house. I already know that my mind is able to work overtime on a theoretical problem, shouldn’t it be able to do the same on something that counts?!? I want to create beauty in my house and make it a place that I want to be.

4. I want to be healthy. My dreams, aspirations, goals and roles as a wife and mother require that my body be in tip-top shape. The only what I know how to get my body into tip-top shape is to make some changes in my nutrition, exercise habits and eventually in my schedule! Therefore, I want to make that a focus in my daily routine so that I hopefully can reap the benefits of health.

So, those are the resolutions that I have for 2011. Yes, my resolutions are late! Maybe next year I’ll make a resolution to get places and do things on time! šŸ™‚ LOL. But for now, those are my goals. They are theĀ embodimentĀ of what I want this year to be remembered as. I want to look back and remember doing all those things. I’m not worried about failure because I cannot fail unless I completely give up. So perseverance is my friend in theseĀ endeavors.

About Melanie

My Being Purpose Statement: As a part of Christ's Bride and as one of His precious treasures whom He redeemed with His precious blood, I purpose in my heart to love and adore Him with all of my heart, soul, and mind (Matthew 22:37). I want to be beautiful in the sight of my Saviour, Jesus Christ. I will therefore pursue holiness (1 Peter 1:16) that I might worship the Lord in the beauty of holiness (1 Chronicles 16:29, Psalms 96:9) and go and proclaim His love, sacrifice and salvation to others who have not heard that I may have the beautiful feet of them that bring glad tidings of good things (Isaiah 52:7, Romans 10:15). My Life Purpose Statement: I desire to serve my Redeemer and Savior Jesus Christ throughout my entire life by ministering to girls and women. I pray that I will be able to bring many girls and women to the Cross of Christ that they may find salvation from a loving and gracious Savior. It is my heartā€™s desire to encourage girls and women who know the Savior to deepen their relationship with Him and to fall more and more in love with Him. I also want to serve women by assisting them in their everyday lives whether I am rolling up my sleeves to work alongside them or am connecting them with people, ministries, and or resources that will be helpful and beneficial to them. By Godā€™s grace and power, through His Spirit, and for His glory will I endeavor to fulfill this purpose
This entry was posted in A Full Heart, Happenings, Intellectual. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

