Importance of Dealing with Hurt

So, tonight was an interesting night at work, and I was the witness to a very sad incident. We had a couple pull up to our drive thru window before they were finished with their order because they were drunk and didn’t know what exactly what they wanting to order. Well, she did not know what she wanted exactly (basically she was using the wrong name for something that we do have). But in the process of them coming to the window, us making her tacos and taking money, etc, we witnessed her “significant other” shoving her and yelling at her that she was stupid, didn’t know what she was talking about, etc. Anyways, this guy she was with ended up putting his hand on her neck and strangling her! Another manager was at the window and she intervened by asking the woman if she wanted us to call the police. At this point, the guy got out of the car and left. We really couldn’t do anything else, but the car behind them called the police.

The manager who was on the window, K, was obviously upset by the whole incident, as were we all. As we were talking about this incident, K said that that woman won’t be able to get out without therapy and I am definitely inclined to agree. My thoughts on the matter were that that woman was probably hurt in the past and the way that she has dealt with her hurt in part caused her plight. She probably believes that she deserves the treatment that she gets, or that she should at least have to put up with it. She may even believe the terrible things that he tells her. Her heart is probably longing for love, comfort and healing.

As I pondered the path that leads to unhealthy and abusive relationships, it occurred to me how important it is that each of us recognizes the ways that we have been hurt. Not for pity, but so that we can find healing. God doesn’t want us to lie to ourselves and say “It’s okay” or “I’m okay” when something wasn’t right! God doesn’t want us to lash out in anger, though either. The option in between is to hurt and to hurt honestly.

When I say, hurt honestly, I mean be honest with ourselves, others and with HIM about our exact thoughts so that He can reveal His Truth and touch us with His Hand of healing and restoration.

To allow hurt to continue on in our lives produces sin. Sin that we do as well as allowing others to sin against us in terrible ways.

I’m thankful that I do have a God who heals and restores. I want to be in that place where I invite Him to heal and to restore my heart and relationships, no matter how much it hurts! I want His truth in my life! Guilt is not invited to the rest of my life and shame is banished.

As I told my friend the other day, there’s NO waiting period for forgiveness! I don’t have to wait 90 days after I sin to come for forgiveness. God wants me today! God wants to heal me TODAY!

About Melanie

My Being Purpose Statement: As a part of Christ's Bride and as one of His precious treasures whom He redeemed with His precious blood, I purpose in my heart to love and adore Him with all of my heart, soul, and mind (Matthew 22:37). I want to be beautiful in the sight of my Saviour, Jesus Christ. I will therefore pursue holiness (1 Peter 1:16) that I might worship the Lord in the beauty of holiness (1 Chronicles 16:29, Psalms 96:9) and go and proclaim His love, sacrifice and salvation to others who have not heard that I may have the beautiful feet of them that bring glad tidings of good things (Isaiah 52:7, Romans 10:15). My Life Purpose Statement: I desire to serve my Redeemer and Savior Jesus Christ throughout my entire life by ministering to girls and women. I pray that I will be able to bring many girls and women to the Cross of Christ that they may find salvation from a loving and gracious Savior. It is my heart’s desire to encourage girls and women who know the Savior to deepen their relationship with Him and to fall more and more in love with Him. I also want to serve women by assisting them in their everyday lives whether I am rolling up my sleeves to work alongside them or am connecting them with people, ministries, and or resources that will be helpful and beneficial to them. By God’s grace and power, through His Spirit, and for His glory will I endeavor to fulfill this purpose
This entry was posted in A Full Heart, Happenings, Intellectual. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

