Walking through the Valley

I feel as though I am walking through a valley. Not really because of external circumstances, but rather what is happening inside of me. My moods have been so melancholy lately, my fears are ever present and my life looks so bleak. I often wonder if this is because I do not spend much time in the sun. I know that sounds completely silly, but given the invitation I would dance with the sun like I would dance with a long lost love. To bask in the warmth and the light and allow it to penetrate the very depths of my dying and shriveling soul.

For that is how I feel, dying and shriveled. Withering away without a last wish. Sometimes I think I do this to myself because I try to shut out the memories of situations that have angered me or saddened me. Sometimes it is because I do not want to confront my demons. Perhaps it is an issue of pride, after all, all great people went through bouts of depression and I want to be great… (I have heard of several people, such as Charles Spurgeon, William Cowper and others). Pride has a lot to do with it, actually because I think I would rather die inside than admit some of my pain, my sin and parts of my life. I honestly think that there are painful depths to my soul that I do not even know about, depths that have never been explored.

I can feel so dead though because I can’t feel the pain of others right now. I started working at a new store and this one very sweet outgoing woman was telling me how she had not been able to sleep the night before and she was just chatting about her story and I found out that she hadn’t been able to sleep because months ago she had had a miscarriage and her due date would have been tomorrow. Not only was she carrying that pain, but a couple of her cousins had been pregnant at the same time and they had the blessing of carrying to full term, but this lady didn’t. She couldn’t sleep because her cousin was in labor while she was at work. She told me all of this and I wanted to feel compassion for her or empathy, but I didn’t. Instead I felt like  a monster. I wanted to cry for her but I couldn’t.

This for me, will be a season of loneliness. I long for retreat, for rest, for stillness as I continue on in the turmoil of my life. I know that this rest will come eventually, and I long for it with all my heart. This summer I want to spend time basking in the sun and just feeling everything that is going on inside of me.

You see, I am not completely dead inside yet, for it is exactly at these times in my life that I feel the depth of my soul. I drove home from work and I felt this longing to be with Luke. I honestly do not think I have felt that strong of a longing for him since before we were married. The intensity was so strong; it is the yearning that must wait as time passes until it finally receives fulfillment. A hope deferred which makes the heart sick, but when the desire is come is a tree of life.

As I trudge through this valley, what feels like the Valley of the Shadow of Death, I will fear no evil, for Thou art with me.

About Melanie

My Being Purpose Statement: As a part of Christ's Bride and as one of His precious treasures whom He redeemed with His precious blood, I purpose in my heart to love and adore Him with all of my heart, soul, and mind (Matthew 22:37). I want to be beautiful in the sight of my Saviour, Jesus Christ. I will therefore pursue holiness (1 Peter 1:16) that I might worship the Lord in the beauty of holiness (1 Chronicles 16:29, Psalms 96:9) and go and proclaim His love, sacrifice and salvation to others who have not heard that I may have the beautiful feet of them that bring glad tidings of good things (Isaiah 52:7, Romans 10:15). My Life Purpose Statement: I desire to serve my Redeemer and Savior Jesus Christ throughout my entire life by ministering to girls and women. I pray that I will be able to bring many girls and women to the Cross of Christ that they may find salvation from a loving and gracious Savior. It is my heart’s desire to encourage girls and women who know the Savior to deepen their relationship with Him and to fall more and more in love with Him. I also want to serve women by assisting them in their everyday lives whether I am rolling up my sleeves to work alongside them or am connecting them with people, ministries, and or resources that will be helpful and beneficial to them. By God’s grace and power, through His Spirit, and for His glory will I endeavor to fulfill this purpose
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Walking through the Valley

  1. Dark One says:

    Ah, Melanie, melancholy Melanie of the dark brown eyes, whose name even means “the Dark One”. Melanie, Shade of the Valley. You touch my heart in a way that it has been touched, ever so long since, for few but myself. Yet there is hope, and there is Hope. Demons love the darkness, and they love to visit the Dark Ones, of which I am one, in watches of the night. When you fight them or fear them or flee them, they grow stronger, but when you shine Light on them, reveal them, expose them, write of them, speak of them, speak to them the Name, they must flee.

Leave a Reply

