Environment Quotes

I’ve been reading Pilgrim Theology by Dr. Michael Bauman, one of the speakers at Summit Ministries. I found this quote to be inspiring, convicting and extremely descriptive!

“Or, as Eric Mascall puts it, when you turn from God and seek your satisfaction in yourself, you not only are sinning, you are distorting your very nature and deforming yourself.” (He is referring to Eric Mascall, author of Man: His Origin and Destiny)”

He writes that quote after he writes this:

“Indeed, one definition of a human being in a fallen world is to be one unending need. What we need is God, as St. Augustine so memorably confessed long ago when he said this to God: ‘You have made us for yourself, and our hearts are restless until they find their rest in You.’

In other words, God is to us what water is for fish, what air is for birds, and what earth is for animals–He is our proper environment, our natural habitat. In Him we are to live, to move, to love, and to have our being (Acts 17:28). We can hardly have a better indication of our nature and of God’s intention for us than to know that without Him we can never truly prosper, which is another way of saying that every human pleasure pursued apart from God inevitably leads to frustration, destruction, and despair — every one. But that lesson is as old as Ecclesiastes: Without God all is vanity; all is empty; all is tedious, all is worthless and dead. In our all-too individualistic and selfish age, we forget that the Biblical notion of person means not an autonomous individual, but one who is able to take part in the lives of others, including the life of God Himself, our Maker and Redeemer.”

I’ve read this particular page a million times. All the concepts are familiar, but they are also all very thought provoking for me! Not only are they thought provoking, but they are inspiring to think about. If I am indeed only in my proper environment when I am walking with God, then I must needs to be walking with God! ! Or, if God is really my proper environment what does that mean when walking with God takes me out of my comfort zone? That means that I have grown too comfortable being in this foreign land here on earth. This whole concept is just making me think very hard about my own life. The concept was stated in such a way that I am able to apply it practically in my own life!!!

Why didn’t this come sooner? Why did God wait until now to bring me to this resource?

About Melanie

My Being Purpose Statement: As a part of Christ's Bride and as one of His precious treasures whom He redeemed with His precious blood, I purpose in my heart to love and adore Him with all of my heart, soul, and mind (Matthew 22:37). I want to be beautiful in the sight of my Saviour, Jesus Christ. I will therefore pursue holiness (1 Peter 1:16) that I might worship the Lord in the beauty of holiness (1 Chronicles 16:29, Psalms 96:9) and go and proclaim His love, sacrifice and salvation to others who have not heard that I may have the beautiful feet of them that bring glad tidings of good things (Isaiah 52:7, Romans 10:15). My Life Purpose Statement: I desire to serve my Redeemer and Savior Jesus Christ throughout my entire life by ministering to girls and women. I pray that I will be able to bring many girls and women to the Cross of Christ that they may find salvation from a loving and gracious Savior. It is my heart’s desire to encourage girls and women who know the Savior to deepen their relationship with Him and to fall more and more in love with Him. I also want to serve women by assisting them in their everyday lives whether I am rolling up my sleeves to work alongside them or am connecting them with people, ministries, and or resources that will be helpful and beneficial to them. By God’s grace and power, through His Spirit, and for His glory will I endeavor to fulfill this purpose
This entry was posted in Intellectual and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

