The BEST Valentine

February 14,2007 was the best Valentines Day ever! I expect that it will always rank at the top of my Valentines Days! 🙂 I had the BEST Valentine that day! I had Jesus. I had no other human valentine, but I had Jesus! 🙂 I wrote a poem that I want to share:

Truely Lord, you did pursue and woo me.

Lord Jesus you have my heart. 

For only for Thee,

With all of it I shall part.

 

Take it all and keep it as a precious treasure,

For You Lord, grant me love, more love than I can measure.

 

I want my heart to be only Thine,

For the rest of my days you’ll be my favorite Valentine.

 

Lord, you see my heart; hear my hearts cry. 

Its has been almost a year since we said goodbye.

[this is in reference to a break up with a certain beloved young man]

 

My heart still aches,

I guess time is what it takes.

Touch me and heal me, 

I want to be only for thee.

 

Thoughts of him or thoughts of You?

O Lord, sometimes it is soo hard to choose.

Be my only love,

the only one I think of!

 

Take me in your arms,

and hold me tight. 

From that embrace,

I promise not to take flight. 

 

Oh, Lord, You love me so,

Even though you didn’t present your love,

in a box with a pretty red bow.

 

No, instead you went to calvary,

to save a poor wretched sinner like me.

 

The ultimate love there you did show,

By humbling Yourself and being made low.

 

Now, I now it is by far NOT the best poetry in the world, but it came from a heart that yearned to fully love Jesus. I often wonder if I have ever longed for Jesus as much as I did in that time period! My relationship with him then was not so much work because I acutely felt my need for HIM. I longed for and desired HIM. That Valentines day I was aware that I was very single. My heart wanted to cry for the human it held in such high regard, but I knew that Jesus had to come first. 

That Valentines day was a day that God gave me a gift of hope; hope for a future with my beloved. I didn’t and couldn’t understand how when I was walking with God the closest, it seemed my love for Luke was the most intense. It remains so to this day. 

However, as I sit here this Valentines day, closer to taken than not, with roses on my dresser from my sweetie, I still remember Valentines Day 2007 as the best Valentines Day of my life!

About Melanie

My Being Purpose Statement: As a part of Christ's Bride and as one of His precious treasures whom He redeemed with His precious blood, I purpose in my heart to love and adore Him with all of my heart, soul, and mind (Matthew 22:37). I want to be beautiful in the sight of my Saviour, Jesus Christ. I will therefore pursue holiness (1 Peter 1:16) that I might worship the Lord in the beauty of holiness (1 Chronicles 16:29, Psalms 96:9) and go and proclaim His love, sacrifice and salvation to others who have not heard that I may have the beautiful feet of them that bring glad tidings of good things (Isaiah 52:7, Romans 10:15). My Life Purpose Statement: I desire to serve my Redeemer and Savior Jesus Christ throughout my entire life by ministering to girls and women. I pray that I will be able to bring many girls and women to the Cross of Christ that they may find salvation from a loving and gracious Savior. It is my heart’s desire to encourage girls and women who know the Savior to deepen their relationship with Him and to fall more and more in love with Him. I also want to serve women by assisting them in their everyday lives whether I am rolling up my sleeves to work alongside them or am connecting them with people, ministries, and or resources that will be helpful and beneficial to them. By God’s grace and power, through His Spirit, and for His glory will I endeavor to fulfill this purpose
This entry was posted in A Full Heart and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

