A mind game

If you haven’t read “Heart Struggles”, then you should! Okay, I know that I  wrote it, but still…. No, seriously, this is why: I am at another point in my life that seems almost the same. Another point of surrender. Only this time, this struggle isn’t as emotionally charged as the one I wrote about in “Heart Struggles“. Its a battle of the mind, a chess game. I’m not a chess player, so I may be making an absurd analogy, but bear with me. 

In chess, you must focus on how each piece can move an also try to figure out how your oponent is trying to get you in check all while trying to get them in check! Its an intense mind game. Life seems like that sometimes. Often, instead of worrying about acting according to God’s standards and trusting HIM for the outcome, I find that I try to “win at chess”! I act as I think is appropriate and try to do my best to stay out of trouble! I sometimes even go on the attack against other people. After all, winning is what counts, right?

I know the answer is wrong, but this chess game has become a way of life for dealing with certain people. I know that God is wanting to change that in me, but I admit to the rebellious attitudes of my heart. Again, your prayers are SO APPRECIATED. Pray that I will give up this chess game way of living, and learn to trust God to call the shots and make the moves!

About Melanie

My Being Purpose Statement: As a part of Christ's Bride and as one of His precious treasures whom He redeemed with His precious blood, I purpose in my heart to love and adore Him with all of my heart, soul, and mind (Matthew 22:37). I want to be beautiful in the sight of my Saviour, Jesus Christ. I will therefore pursue holiness (1 Peter 1:16) that I might worship the Lord in the beauty of holiness (1 Chronicles 16:29, Psalms 96:9) and go and proclaim His love, sacrifice and salvation to others who have not heard that I may have the beautiful feet of them that bring glad tidings of good things (Isaiah 52:7, Romans 10:15). My Life Purpose Statement: I desire to serve my Redeemer and Savior Jesus Christ throughout my entire life by ministering to girls and women. I pray that I will be able to bring many girls and women to the Cross of Christ that they may find salvation from a loving and gracious Savior. It is my heart’s desire to encourage girls and women who know the Savior to deepen their relationship with Him and to fall more and more in love with Him. I also want to serve women by assisting them in their everyday lives whether I am rolling up my sleeves to work alongside them or am connecting them with people, ministries, and or resources that will be helpful and beneficial to them. By God’s grace and power, through His Spirit, and for His glory will I endeavor to fulfill this purpose
This entry was posted in A Full Heart, Happenings, Intellectual. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A mind game

  1. Diane Applewhite says:

    Melanie,
    I will hold you close my sister. It is so hard sometimes to give up our ways for the Father’s. For me it seems that when I make a move my chess piece gets taken and the other side gets a better position on the board. However the whole board game is in God’s sight and He knows who’s going to win. We will, it says so in God’s word.
    Love you,
    Diane

Leave a Reply

