Changing the World

I once had a dream to change the world.

Right now, I am not acting on that dream, but rather hoping to allow God to change me in order for Him to carry out His Master plan in my life. Should He decide to change the world through me, so be it.

However, during this season of my life, I’ve been noticing how the world is affected and changed. At work while I bake donuts for Donut Connection I sometimes listen to a CD or the radio. When someone else is there I usually let them pick the station, mostly because of the three Christian radio stations in our area, none get anywhere near good reception in the store. So a couple nights ago I was listening to a radio station that one of the other girls said she listened to and I heard the song “I kissed a girl” by Katy Perry. I was literally shocked and appalled by what the song said. Here is a link to the lyrics.  Please, read them, but with discretion and keeping in mind the truth of God’s Word.

Here is a female who is writing a song about kissing a girl and the kiss not being a big deal. A couple lines from the song:

“It felt so wrong
It felt so right”

“Us girls we are so magical
Soft skin, red lips, so kissable
Hard to resist so touchable
Too good to deny it
Ain’t no big deal, it’s innocent”

That last stanza is basically the conclusion of the songwriter. Is this what the rest of my generation believes? Think about it, teenage girls, freshmen, sophmores, juniors and seniors in highschool are listening to this, and they are not thinking to much about it. The song presents same-sex kissing as okay, cool, enjoyable, and “innocent”. Where is the truth? Is my generation hearing the truth? Will those of my generation who believe the truth tell it? This song is a call to those of you who do know the truth: Its time we enter the public arena and let our voices be heard.

The thing about this song that scares me is the fact that the next generation of voters is listening to it. We cannot just win the battle in the political realm! Although that realm is EXTREMELY important, we must not forget to influence the next generation now, before they even get to the political arena. These girls listening to this song will have a hard time understanding why same sex marriage is such an issue, because it is normal to them. We need to change normal, and we need to change it now!

About Melanie

My Being Purpose Statement: As a part of Christ's Bride and as one of His precious treasures whom He redeemed with His precious blood, I purpose in my heart to love and adore Him with all of my heart, soul, and mind (Matthew 22:37). I want to be beautiful in the sight of my Saviour, Jesus Christ. I will therefore pursue holiness (1 Peter 1:16) that I might worship the Lord in the beauty of holiness (1 Chronicles 16:29, Psalms 96:9) and go and proclaim His love, sacrifice and salvation to others who have not heard that I may have the beautiful feet of them that bring glad tidings of good things (Isaiah 52:7, Romans 10:15). My Life Purpose Statement: I desire to serve my Redeemer and Savior Jesus Christ throughout my entire life by ministering to girls and women. I pray that I will be able to bring many girls and women to the Cross of Christ that they may find salvation from a loving and gracious Savior. It is my heart’s desire to encourage girls and women who know the Savior to deepen their relationship with Him and to fall more and more in love with Him. I also want to serve women by assisting them in their everyday lives whether I am rolling up my sleeves to work alongside them or am connecting them with people, ministries, and or resources that will be helpful and beneficial to them. By God’s grace and power, through His Spirit, and for His glory will I endeavor to fulfill this purpose
This entry was posted in Intellectual. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

